Please upgrade your browser

Upcoming board and executive committee meetings can be found at the bottom of this page.


Click on staff members names to email them directly.

Aimee Allen – Parents as Teachers Consultant
Alanna Holmes Finance Associate
Beth Bowen – Parent Education Coordinator
Brianne Walsh  – Parents as Teachers Consultant
Debbie Harrell – Finance Director
Jane Morrow – Executive Director
Jennifer Gallo – Community Outreach and Education Associate
Kelly Puzon – Early Childhood Consultant
Kim Klein – Early Childhood Consultant
Krista Green Early Childhood Consultant
Krista Turner – Program & Evaluation Director
LaKeasha Glaspie – Early Childhood Specialist 
La’Toya Parker – Parent Education Consultant
Laura Pollard – Receptionist/Support Services Associate
Liat Weingarten – Parents as Teachers Coordinator
Matt Schaeffer – Early Childhood Consultant
Mebane Boyd – Family and Health Services Manager
Mindy Davis – Early Care and Education Manager
Natalie Pond – Early Childhood Consultant
Stephanie Harris – Community Outreach Education Consultant

Board of Directors:


Cliff Barnett, President, Faith Community, AME Warner Temple
Khadijia Tribié Reid, Vice President, Parent of a Child Receiving Smart Start Services, MedNorth Health Center
Betty Clark, Treasurer, Community Member
Michelle Winstead, Secretary, New  Hanover County Department of Social Services


Board Members

Adam Hilton, Business Leader, GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy
Benjamin Baldwin, Parent of a Child with Special Needs/ LICC Representative, Delta Behavioral Health
Bernadette Baker, Community Member
Beth Schrader, Appointed Designee for the County Manager
Betty Clark, Community Member
Cheryl Aguilar, Family Child Care Provider
Claire Corbett, Parent Representative, NHRMC
Cliff Barnett, Faith Community, AME Warner Temple
Harry Tuchmayer, Public Library Director
James Faison, Community Member, District Court Judge
Joy Guenther , Community Member, Guardian Ad Litem
Justin Lewis, Community Member, Ward and Smith, P.A.
Karen Weaver, Business Leader, PNC
Kenneth Sarvis, Community Member, New Hanover County Sheriff’s Office
Khadijia Tribie Reid, Parent Representative, Med North
LaChawn Smith, Appointed Designee for the NHC Superintendent of Schools
Leslie King, Non-Profit Child Care Related Organization, CA-naeyc
Michelle Winstead, Director, New Hanover County Department of Social Services
Phillip Tarte, Director, New Hanover County Health Department
Rhonda Tighe, Appointed Designee for the Cape Fear Community College President
Rob Zapple, Appointed Designee for the Board of County Commissioners
Shannon Smiles, Appointed Designee for Head Start Representative
Traci Bramlett, Community Member, UNCW
Tracy Meadows, Community Member


Board of Directors Meeting Dates

(Meetings are at 6:00 pm at the Smart Start Office)

  • September 26, 2017 – Annual Meeting
  • Fall 2017 – Board Retreat – date to be scheduled
  • January 23, 2018
  • March 27, 2018
  • June 26, 2018

Executive Committee Meeting Dates

(Meetings are at 12:30 at the Smart Start Office)

  • August, September, October, April, May & June – 2nd Tuesday
  • Nov 21st, Dec 19th, Jan 10th, Feb 27th, March 14th

Finance Committee Meeting Dates

(Meetings are at 11:30 am at the Smart Start Office)

  • September 12th
  • January 10th
  • March 14th
  • June 13th

Other committees of the board

(Meetings posted as they are scheduled.  Meetings are held at the Smart Start Office unless otherwise noted.)

  • Advocacy Committee
    • September 20, 2017
    • February 28th at 5:00 pm
    • Wed., June 13, 2018 at 12:00 noon.
  • Development Committee
    • Tuesday, August 8, 2017  at 1:30pm
    • Tuesday, October 10, 2017  at 1:30pm
  • Planning & Oversight Committee
    • August 29th at 6:30 pm
    • September 27th at 9:00 am
    • November 1st at 9:00 am
  • Allocation Committee
    • October 10th at 4:30 pm
    • February 27th at 1:30 pm
  • Nominating Committee
    • February 26 at 9:00 am
    • June 6th at 5:30 pm